Southern Association of Black Peace Corps Volunteers

Increasing the number of African Americans in the International Arena

Community Spotlight with Jordone Branch

Community Spotlight with Jordone Branch who is currently a Peace Corps Volunteer in Morocco, North Africa.

Little Black Village

Community Spotlight with Jordone Branch

“Being an “African” and an “American” while living in Africa: Where do I fit in?”

Living in Africa as a Morocco Peace Corps volunteer has been an insightful learning experience that has5404_10200160558645284_1998225362_n2 taught me the dramatic effects of stereotypes about people of African descent. This adventure has been especially unique for me as an African American woman as Morocco is a country that has yet to fully acknowledge and embrace it’s African identity. This is likely a result of colonialism and negative media portrayals. When I first applied to the Peace Corps, I told my recruiter that I had the definite desire go to Africa. I mentioned to him that I was interested in connecting with the part of my heritage that I never got to personally experience. As I said this statement, I somewhat imagined myself building relationships with people in Africa who would…

View original post 1,004 more words

2 comments on “Community Spotlight with Jordone Branch

  1. wr12blog
    August 27, 2013

    Thank you, I am interested in following your blog. I am a Peace Corps applicant. In July 2013, I was legally cleared. I am anticipating my invitation. Eloise

    • sabpcv
      August 27, 2013

      Thank you for following us Eloise. Also, congratulations on your decision to join Peace Corps. Great news that you have been legally cleared. You should soon be getting an invitation I guest. I wish you the best of luck during your service. Make lots of friends and new family. We will try to post more regularly for our followings. You can also check out http://www.minoritypeacecorpsassociation.org and http://www.littleblackvillage.org

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2013 by in peace corps, Volunteer, World and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow SAB PCV and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Members Blogs

SAB PCV Calender

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
MPCA

Minority Peace Corps Associaton

Carter's Blog Corner

Find Me on Facebook: Carter's Blog Corner

Southern Association of Black Peace Corps Volunteers

Increasing the number of African Americans in the International Arena

